The K-12 ASL Content Standards comprise four parts:

  • Introduction. The introduction addresses the rationale and purpose of the Standards. Addressing the breadth, depth, and range of complexity of students’ ASL skills, the introduction explains that the Standards are based on children’s learning and using ASL as their first language. They are designed to enhance ASL instruction through standards-based practice.
  • Anchor and Grade-Level Standards. The Anchor Standards set the foundation for the Standards and describe the general expectations of K-12 students learning ASL as a first language. The Anchor Standards are separated into five sections:

The grade-level standards set expectations for students in grades K-12, delineating the specific knowledge and skills that all students are expected to demonstrate as they progress  through the curriculum. Grade-level standards are organized by grade clusters:

Grades K-2
Grades 3-5
Grades 6-8
Grades 9-10 and 11-12

  • Glossary. The glossary is a list of terms and their definitions, along with an explanation of each in ASL.
  • References. The references provide the research foundation for the development of both the Anchor Standards and the grade-level standards.

K-12 ASL Content Standards

Download a complete set of the K-12 ASL Content Standards, including the introduction, the Anchor Standards and grade-level standards, the glossary, and the references.