Grade Level Cluster PDFs

The five Anchor Standards establish the general expectations for students learning ASL as a first language across grades K-12.  They include:

  1. Viewing
  2. Published Signing
  3. Discourse and Presentation
  4. Language
  5. Fingerspelling and Fingerreading

The Anchor Standards for Viewing comprise: 

The grade-level standards set expectations, delineating the specific knowledge and skills that all students are expected to demonstrate as they progress through the curriculum. Grade-level standards are provided for the following grade clusters: K-2, 3-5, 6-8, and 9-12.

Standards that are unique to ASL are symbolized with the use of the image of a hand. 

Grades K-2

Grades 3-5

Grades 6-8

Grades 9-12

K-12 ASL Content Standards

Download a complete set of the K-12 ASL Content Standards, including the introduction, the Anchor Standards and grade-level standards, the glossary, and the references.

K-12 ASL Content Standards online filtering page.